Bristol Redevelopment & Housing Authority

Bristol Redevelopment & Housing Authority

Board of Commissioners

The Bristol Redevelopment and Housing Authority is governed by a five member Board of Commissioners.  The Commissioners are appointed by the Bristol Virginia Mayor for a four-year term.  Commissioners may serve four consecutive four-year terms.  The US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) requires that at least one Commissioner be a participant in one of the housing programs operated by the Authority.

Mr. Mark Cofer, a Bristol native, was appointed by the City of Bristol, Virginia on July 1, 2019 for a four-year term to the BRHA Board of Commissioners. He was appointed Chairman on June 17, 2020. Mr. Cofer, a graduate of both ETSU and Bristol College, is an Ambassador for the Bristol TN/VA Chamber of Commerce and active with United Way of Bristol TN/VA.

Josh Fleenor was appointed to the Board of Commissioners in July 2018, filling the expired term of a previous Commissioner. He has a background in Social Work and was previously employed by Highlands Community Services. He is a member of the Policy Committee for the Bristol Day Center project and an avid “Reading Buddy”.

Mr. Jerry Chorosevic, Sr. was appointed to the Board of Commissioners in 2002, initially filling the unexpired term of a previous commissioner, and is currently serving his fourth full term on the board. He served as Chairman of the Board from 2003 to 2006, a critical period of transition in BRHA’s executive leadership and organizational restructuring, and again from 2010 to 2020 . Mr. Chorosevic is retired from the manufacturing industry and, with his significant experience in the for-profit sector, brings an important private business perspective to the Board.

In October, 2017, Ms. Denise Franklin, a long-term resident of BRHA, was appointed to the Board of Commissioners, filing the unexpired term of a previous Commissioner. Ms. Franklin has served on the Resident Advisory Board and is an active member of the “Find-A-Way” Family Self-Sufficiency (FSS) Program. Ms. Franklin is a nurse at a local hospital where she is devoted to caring for her elderly patients.

Dr. Gary Poulton is a retired History Professor from the former Virginia Intermont College in Bristol, Virginia; he was also a past president of the college. He is currently serving his third term as a BRHA Commissioner. During his tenure Dr. Poulton has served several terms as Vice-Chair and previously served as Chairman of BRHA twice, most recently for the term July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017. Gary’s life-long passion for learning translates into advocacy for self-sufficiency programs for BRHA’s residents.